Valentine’s Day Paper Garland

Paper heart garland

Paper heart garland

I’m really into paper crafts right now. They are easy, fun and don’t require a lot of crafting talent. It is perfect for a newbie. It is also an especially frugal way to use the construction paper surplus that I’ve amassed over the past few years! I had lots of fun celebrating Chinese New Year…it is now time to focus on Valentine’s Day!!

Start with paper strips

Start with paper strips

Fold & put glue on the outside

Fold & put glue on the outside

St. Valentine’s Day is all about spreading the love. It’s the perfect time to show appreciation for all those who are special to you. I’ve grown to love Valentine’s Day….it’s just become fun! The red and pink color scheme, the flowers, the chocolate! It’s the one time of year where being girly is encouraged…even in a house full of boys!! I love to feminine up the mantle for Valentine’s Day. I put up a few things but it still looked bare. It needed something pink to Valentine it up….my solution – Paper Heart Garland.

Glue the top of the heart to the folded edge

Glue the top of the heart to the folded edge

Glue the inner edge to make a point

Glue the inner edge to make a point

This craft is very easy. It only requires paper, glue and scissors. I began by cutting my construction paper into long strips with a 2-inch width. Anything thinner was too difficult to work with and anything wider doesn’t hold it’s shape well. I then folded my strips in half. I applied glue to both sides of the fold. This is where it gets kind of tricky. I glued the fold onto the open ends of the heart below it. This makes the bottom of one heart and the top of the heart below it. Make sure to hold the edges together until the glue is set. I then added glue inside the fold and held it together until the glue set. This made the heart’s point more pronounced. I repeated this procedure with additional strips until I had the length I wanted. Lastly, I let the glue dry completely before hanging my garland.

Repeat with the next heart

Repeat with the next heart

Pretty garland

Pretty garland

I hung my garland off the edge of the mantle. It is so girly and pretty in pink, white and red. It’s the perfect Valentine’s decor. Frugal Tired Mom win!

Valentine's mantle is off to a good start

Valentine’s mantle is off to a good start

Total Active Time – 1 hour

Total Cost – $0

Total Reward – Pretty paper hearts for Valentine’s Day!

Check out my Pinterest boards for more Valentine’s Day ideas

Leave a Reply

